Why I eat Vegan and How it Feels:

cropped-img_2317.jpg

My top 3 reasons:

1) I care about the environment

2) I care about animals and see no reason for us to eat them

3) I have seen massive health improvements following a vegan diet

Here are some of the biggest changes I’ve experienced after following the vegan diet for one year:

1) Better skin: I used to have a lot of acne and though I still occasionally get a few spots from eating too many sugary or fatty treats, my overall skin health has improved tremendously.

2) Steadier mood: I have heard claims that animal products contain certain hormones that may be detrimental to our health and mental wellbeing. Whether or not this is true, my mood has certainly improved following the vegan diet. This could of course be attributed to including more fruits and vegetables into my meals, however since becoming vegan I have experienced far less anxiety and depression, I am generally less agitated, I experience much better, steadier sleep, and I feel generally much happier!

3) Weight loss: I feel lighter, perhaps because a vegan diet encourages more fruits and vegetables, containing that good ‘ol fibre – and we all know how much that helps make us feel lighter 😉 Honestly, it does take some getting used to, but once your body has detoxed and adjusted to the extra fibre intake, things will be de-light-ful! Expect to have a flatter stomach and a spring in your step!

4) Saved money: And I mean a crapload of money. I have no idea why people think being vegan should be expensive. That’s insane! If you eat more whole foods, less prepared meals and refined ingredients, you are going to save big bucks. More on this to come…

5) I feel more connected to my environment: “Each day, a person who eats a vegan diet saves 1,100 gallons of water, 45 pounds of grain, 30 sq ft of forested land, 20 lbs CO2 equivalent, and one animal’s life.” 

1 Comment

Leave a comment